

CHRONICLE-THE MODERN SCHOOL WEEKLY

MODERN SCHOOL BARAKHAMBA ROAD www.modernschool.net Est. in 1920



Principal Dr Vijay Datta with the newly appointed School Monitors.

WHAT'S NEW AT SCHOOL

1. INVESTITURE CEREMONY

.....Page 1,2

2. E-COMBAT – ANNUAL COMMERCE EVENT

.....Page 3

3. COMMERCE EVENT AT CAMBRIDGE SCHOOL, NOIDA

.....Page 3

4. ECONOMITE – INTER-SCHOOL ECONOMIC EVENT

..... Page 4

5. HURRAH FOR OUR
OUIZZERSPage 4

INVESTITURE CEREMONY

30th October 2018, the newly appointed prefects and monitors of S7 were conferred with badges by the Principal, Dr Vijay Datta. Donning the mantle of leadership, they promised to uphold the ethos and the motto of the school and to lead from the front with commitment, confidence and competence. The Prefects and the Monitors took an oath to shoulder their responsibilities entrusted to them efficiently and to abide by the qualities of a true leader. Our Principal motivated the students and stressed on the significance of setting priorities and aiming high.

The School Prefects and Monitors are as

follows:



SCHOOL MONITORS



- ❖ Abhinav Agarwal (S7-C)
- * Raghavendra Gupta (S7-E)
- **❖** Kartikay Agarwal (S7–J)
- ❖ Sifat Sahni (S7-J)
- ❖ Shruti Bhardwaj (S7-I)
- ❖ Shubh Sethi (S7-A)

SCHOOL PREFECTS

- Pradyuman Raj Mehta (S7-C)
- Prakriti Dahiya (S7-F)
- Manav Gupta (S7-G)
- ❖ Yash Bansal (S7-F)
- Ritvik Vasudeva (S7-E)
- ❖ Arahana Yadav (S7-J)
- ❖ Manya Bansal (S7-I)
- ❖ Arnav Gupta (S7-F)
- **❖** Tanya Goel (S7-F)
- Devaank Aggarwal (S7-D)
- **❖** Kunal Saluja (S7-B)
- ❖ Saiyam Hota (S7-E)
- ❖ Suchet Kumar (S7-E)
- ❖ Aditya Singh Rathore (S7-D)
- Ameesha Mukhija (S7-A)
- Armaan Aggarwal (S7-F)

- ❖ Aditya Varun Sarkar (S7-D)
- ❖ Aadya Kapur (S7-I)
- **❖** Anmol Bansal (S7-F)
- ❖ Varun Khurana (S7-A)
- ❖ Shashank Ramesh (S7-C)
- Sanyam Gupta (S7-D)
- * Rishab Dua (S7-D)
- ❖ Varun Singh Bhalla (S7-A)
- ❖ Avantika Singh (S7-E)
- ❖ Gayatri Sehgal (S7-I)
- Hiya Gupta (S7-A)
- ❖ Agastya Chawla (S7-G)
- Tina Aneja (S7-B)
- * Rushali Jain (S7-I)
- ❖ Archita Kaur Dhodi (S7-G)



The Investiture Ceremony

E-COMBAT – ANNUAL COMMERCE EVENT

Ahlcon Public School held their Annual Interschool Commerce Competition, E-Combat on 24th August 2018. The competition involved participation from over 30 schools. Aditya Shankar Agarwal (S7-H) and Ritvik Vasudeva (S7-E) bagged the First position in Face to Face Event, a personality debate where they excellently displayed their emphatic and subtle resemblances to their characters of Mr Shashi Tharoor and Mr Arnab Goswami. Agastya Chawla (S7-G) and Rahil Arora (S6-F) secured the Third position in the Quiz which was a

test of individual acumen regarding information of the field of business environment. Arnav Gupta (S7-F) and Raghavendra Gupta (S7-E) were awarded the Second position in the Mock Stock Simulation, a play of financial wit and a study of market relation. Modern School, Barakhamba Road was also awarded with Overall Best School Award.



The Proud Winners

COMMERCE EVENT AT CAMBRIDGE SCHOOL, NOIDA

Students of the Commerce Society added yet another feather to their cap on 30th October by clinching the Overall Trophy at Cambridge School, Indirapuram.

Unleashing their biz-wiz entrepreneurial skills; Inan Jaggi (S6-F), Avik Chaudhery (S6-G) and Aaryan Agarwal (S6-F) came Third in Shark Tank while Anusha Bansal (S6-I) and Pragya Tandon (S6-G) outdid the other teams in the Group Discussion with brilliant analysis guided by logical arguments. Aditya Shivtalwar (S6-I),



The Smiling Faces

Disha Jain (S6-G), Khagolim Negi (S6-J) and Arnav Puri (S7-F) seized the moment coming First in the 'Sold Out' enactment of current economic scenario with the perfect sense of wit. The quizzers Sanat Dayani (S6-F) and Sanat Sehgal (S6-E) came Second outshining their rivals.

ECONOMITE - INTERSCHOOL ECONOMIC EVENT

Modern School, Vasant Vihar hosted Economite, the 24th Edition of the Annual

Inter School Economic Fest on 16th October, 2018. Various academicians, including professors from Harvard and Yale University spoke to the students from the participating schools. Anusha Bansal (S6-I) was awarded the Best Speaker in the debate on the recent economic



The Thrilled Champions

policies by International Sovereignty. Arnav Gupta (S7-F) and Raghavendra Gupta (S7-E)were awarded the Runner Up position in the Stock Market Simulation, an event which involved the need of multifarious methods and analysis to bet on the gain in capital market instruments. Vedang Khera (S7-H), Ameesha Mukhija (S7-A), Rahul Arora (S7-E), Aditya Shivtalwar (S6-I) and Disha Jain (S6-G) were awarded the Runner Up position for Ad-Acting, to enact an advertisement for 'Patel Powder', a product which controls inflation', involving multiple economic theorems including national equilibrium and inflationary gaps. Modern School's advertisement stood out for its presentation and deep concurrent understanding of Economics. Modern School's aim to keep in tandem the holistic approach to excellence resonated throughout the event.

Page 4

HURRAH FOR OUR QUIZZERS

Our prodigious team of quizzing giants Rahul Pandey (S4-E) and Shreyansh Krishna (S3-D) exhibited unfathomable cerebral élan in their faster than lightning blitzkrieg and louder than accomplishments. They were placed as the Second-Best School Team in the prestigious Fifth Edition of the St. Stephen's Annual Quizzing Championship 2018 (SAQC) at St. Stephen's College on 4th November, 2018. They finished at an enviable Seventh overall position amidst all participating schools and colleges. Out of our six teams who competed, four qualified for the semi-finals, this too amidst seasoned, diehard quizzers. What a fantastic fiery feat! Kudos to all our think-tanks!



Another feather in their cap

Supervised By: Ms Beeba Sobti

Ms Sonal Bedi

Compiled By: Ms Gita Bhasin