CHRONICLE-THE MODERN SCHOOL WEEKLY **MODERN SCHOOL BARAKHAMBA ROAD** Est. in 1920

www.modernschool.net



The Principal Dr Vijay Datta with the National Bravery Awardees

WHAT'S NEW AT **SCHOOL**

NATIONAL BRAVERY AWARDEES

....Pages 1, 2

- **FAREWELL TO THE BATCH OF 2020**Pages 2, 3, 4
- **IAYP SOCIAL SERVICE TRIP**...Page 4
- ARCHERYPage 4

NATIONAL BRAVERY AWARDEES

On 22nd January 2020, Modern School Road proudly hosted 21 Barakhamba bravehearts, who were earmarked to be felicitated with the prestigious National Bravery Award on India's Republic Day for their exemplary acts of bravery. Shortlisted by The Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) these gallant children ranged across 12 different states: six from the Northeast and two from Jammu and Kashmir. One award will be given posthumously. The Government of India gives these awards every year to recognise their valour. They will also get to meet the Prime Minister. Shri Narendra Modi on the



Republic Day. Upon their arrival at Modern School, the students along with, Program Officer ICCW Ms Vibha Joshi and the Program Assistant ICCW Mr Ram Niwas Kaushik, were taken to the

front lawns for a photograph to be remembered by posterity. They then proceeded to the HLL Auditorium, where the students of Modern School presented a wonderful dance performance which symbolised the completion of the School's hundred years since its establishment and also paid a tribute to the selfless spirit of the awardees. The Principal, Dr Vijay Datta, extended his heartfelt congratulations and felicitated the children with tokens of appreciation, in honour of their dauntless acts. The recipients of the Bravery Award included Muhammed Muhsin (posthumously), Adithya K, Sartaj Mohidin Mugal, Mudasir Ashraf, Carolyn Malsawmtluangi, Kamal Krishna Das, Srimati Badra, Rakhi, Kanti Paikra and Bharneshwari Nirmalkar (from Chhattisgarh), Aarti Kiran Shet and Venkatesh (from Sadavarte and Akash Karnataka), Zen Machindra Khillare (from Maharashtra), Purnima Giri and Sabita Giri (from Odisha), Alaika, Lourembam Yaikhomba Mangang (Manipur), Everbloom K Nongrum (Meghalaya), Lalliansanga and Vanlalhriatrenga (from Mizoram).

To culminate the visit of the National Bravery Awardees, they were taken for a tour of the sprawling campus on which Modern School, Barakhamba Road stands. The children were truly an embodiment of valour and it was indeed a privilege for our School to host them.

FAREWELL TO THE BATCH OF 2020

395 different stories, 395 different successes, 395 paths all entwined into one, 395 journeys that have all just begun.

25th January, 2020 marked the end of the final chapter of the years spent within the red-bricked walls of this prestigious institution for the Batch of 2020. The day was replete with nostalgia and ecstasy as shared memories and experiences of the past were fondly remembered while at the same time, the anticipation of venturing into the world beyond and stepping into a new phase of life - was almost palpable.

The Farewell Ceremony of the Batch of 2020 was graced with the presence of Mr Pramod Sharma, the esteemed Chief Guest for the occasion. Mr Pramod Sharma, in his engaging address, emphasized how different students excel in their own special ways. He also exhorted the students to recognize their passion, aspirations and



motivation within themselves, and thereby chase their dreams with unwavering determination and honesty. In a heartfelt and inspiring address, the Principal,

Dr Vijay Datta, congratulated each and every student of the graduating batch for all that they had achieved and accomplished, and wished them the very best of luck for their future endeavours. The function commenced with a soulful, mellifluous performance that captured perfectly the myriad of emotions felt by each and every student sitting in Sir Shankar Lal Hall. This was followed by a compelling and invigorating musical performance by the beloved performers of S7. Their fellow batchmates swayed their heads and tapped their feet in time with the quirky, hypnotic beats as Avi Arora, Suvir Ghai, Raag Suri and Ruhanijot Kaur Bhasin took the stage to captivate and mesmerize the audience one last time.

The hall was once again filled with dulcet notes as Ms Deepika Parasher presented a melodious rendition that garnered vehement applause and appreciation from everyone.

The students of S6 put up a soul-stirring, poignant and emotional performance with songs which showcased their sense of pride in the true blue that is reflected not merely on the outside but also within each and every Modernite.

Keeping up the much loved tradition, titles were awarded to those students who, in one way or another, had left their mark etched in the walls of their alma mater.



The Principal Dr Vijay Datta with the Chief Guest Mr Pramod Sharma



Modern's Nightingale



Our graceful dancers



The ceremony came to a close with a zestful and entertaining performance as the students of S6 set the stage on fire, dancing to some of the most popular radio hits of all times.

IAYP SOCIAL SERVICE TRIP

The Social Service trip to Animal Shelter Home Goudhaam (International Award For Young People) was held on the 25th January 2020. 42 IAYP students Modern School of Barakhambha Road visited the Kamdenu Gaudhaam, Bissar, Akbarpur, Haryana along with their teacher Incharge Flt Lt Sunita Dixit. The students visited the Gaushaala which owes its success to the efforts of Dr. S.P. Gupta, IAS (retd) and charitable funds. The students fed the



The enthusiastic students

cows and understood the integral role of animals in the environment. The students were taught to plant saplings after which they conducted a plantation drive. They also visited the Gaudhaam's biogas plant and water harvesting project.

ARCHERY

Arshiya Chaudhary (S5 F) participated in the U 19 SGFI Nationals for Archery. The event was held in Ranchi, Jharkhand from 18th to 21st January 2020. She won two Silver medals and one Bronze medal in the competition and was declared the Overall 1st Runner Up at the event.

The Principal Dr Vijay Datta with Arshiya Chaudhary



Supervised By : Ms Beeba Sobti