Est. in 1920



THE MODERN CHRONICLE MODERN SCHOOL BARAKHAMBA ROAD

www.modernschool.net

Principal Dr Vijay Datta and Ms Beeba Sobti with the winners of the Genesis Global Landmark Quiz.

#### WHAT'S NEW AT SCHOOL 1.The Genesis Global Landmark Quiz 2017 Page 1

- 2. Design Championship 2017 Page 2
- 3. IPSC Squash Page 2
- 4. Inquizitive Quiz 2017 Page 2
- 5. Inter-school Quiz at St Xavier's School Page 3
- 6. Open Delhi State Swimming Championship Page 3
- 7. Directorate of Education Inter School Open Swimming Championship Page 3

6. Cathedral MUN 2017

# THE GENESIS GLOBAL LANDMARK QUIZ 2017

The Quiz Club of Modern School sent a team comprising of Aman Agarwal, Aatmik Gupta and Ayan Marwah of S7 to participate in the Genesis Global Landmark Quiz 2017 held on 3rd and 4th August 2017. The event witnessed participation from more than 30 of the most reputed schools throughout the country. There was a written preliminary round followed by a six-team final. Modern School made way to the finals. The quiz was hosted by Mr Parnab Mukherjee. After six rounds of intense quizzing which included questions from Mythology, History, Sports, Technology and Art history Modern School students emerged winners.

Page 4



### **DESIGN CHAMPIONSHIP 2017**

A Design Championship was organised by Modern School on 25<sup>th</sup> August 2017. It was

inaugurated by the Principal Dr Vijay Datta. Over 50 teams participated in various events like Game designing, Graphic designing, Movie making and Industrial designing. Shaurya Kumar and Rohan Bhasin of S3 represented Modern School and won the 1<sup>st</sup> prize in Game designing winning an Amazon voucher worth Rs 10,000. Samraj Chaudhary of S5 won the 1<sup>st</sup> prize in Graphic designing. The winners will be representing Modern School at NGDC (Nasscom Game Developer Conference) which will be held in November in Hyderabad.



The proud winners of Design Competition 2017

### **IPSC SQUASH**

Modern School's Squash girls team participated in the All India IPSC Squash Championship held at Rajmata Krishna Kumari Girls' Public School, Jodhpur from 31<sup>st</sup> August - 3<sup>rd</sup> September 2017. In the U19 girls category Sanya Vats, Megha Bhatia and Tanya Aggrawal won a gold medal each. In the U 19 girls category Megha Bhatia won a gold medal and Sanya Vats won a silver medal.



Ayaan Marwah and Aman Agarwal

## **INQUIZITIVE QUIZ 2017**

Ayan Marwaha and Aman Agarwal of S7 represented Modern School at the 17<sup>th</sup> HT Pace Inquizitive Quiz 2017 held on the 9<sup>th</sup> August at the Talkatora Indoor Stadium. The Quiz saw participation from over 200 teams from various schools in and around Delhi-NCR. The finals of the Quiz was hosted by Tech Guru Rajiv Makhni. Modern School clinched the Second Runner Up position in the finals students winning cycles, encyclopaedias and dictionaries from Britannica.

# **INTER-SCHOOL QUIZ AT ST XAVIER'S SCHOOL**

Modern School students participated in the Inter-School Quiz Competition held on 30<sup>th</sup> August 2017 at St Xavier's

School. This is a prestigious middle school quiz competition held annually and has participation from some of the leading schools of Delhi. The preliminary round saw the participation of 32 schools from various parts of the city. The team comprising of Shreyansh Krishna and Reyan Bangia of S2 made it to the final round with ease. The final contest, included 10 gruelling rounds each for visual, audio, memory, logical reasoning, language and literature, books and authors, science, computers and rapid fire. Our team comprising of Shreyansh and Reyan emerged as winners.



Shreyansh Krisna and Reyan Bangia with their trophies.

#### **OPEN DELHI STATE SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIP**

The Swimming team of Modern school participated in the Open Delhi State Swimming Championship held at Talkatora swimming pool from 1<sup>st</sup> to 5<sup>th</sup> September 2017. Modern School's Waterpolo team was declared runner up. In the Individual events in the U 19 girls category Asawari Jindal , Sarah Nagpal and Radhika Shukla won 1 silver and1 bronze medal each. In the U-17 girls category Yashwani Suhag won 4 gold and 2 silver medals. Manya Khendelwal and Chavi Jain won 1 silver medal each. In the U-17 boys category Arya Lamba won a gold medal. In the U 14 boys category Aditya Kumar won 1 silver and 1 bronze medal.

#### DIRECTORATE OF EDUCATION INTER SCHOOL OPEN SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIP

The Modern School team participated in the Directorate of Education Inter School Open Swimming Championship held at Talkatora Swimming Pool from 28<sup>th</sup> to 31<sup>st</sup> August 2017. They won 21 medals including 6 gold, 6 silver and 9 bronze medals. A cash award of Rs 2100 for each gold, Rs 1500 for each silver and Rs 1000 for each bronze was awarded to the winners. In the U-19 Boys category Yash Raj Shanker won 2 gold and 1silver medals, Saushtav Roy won 3 silver medals. In the U-17 Girls category Yashwani Suhag won 3 gold and 2 bronze medals, Radhika Shukla won 1 bronze medal, Chavi Jain and Shreya Gupta won 1 bronze medal each. In the U-14 Boys category Aditya Kumar won 1 gold and 2 silver medals, Palak Rastogi , Vedisha Jain and Maanya Khendelwal won 1 bronze medal each.



#### **CATHEDRAL MUN 2017**



Principal Dr Vijay Datta, Ms Manpreet, Ms Beeba Sobti, Ms Prabha Bhagat and Ms Sonia Kapoor with the MUN winners

The Cathedral Model United Nations conference (CMUN), currently in its 21<sup>st</sup> edition, is India's oldest Model UN conference. It is also the grandest and the most competitive MUN in the country. The conference is hosted by the Cathedral and John Connon School in the expansive halls of the Oberoi Trident. It is in these memorable environs that every year some of the country's smartest teenagers gather to debate some of our world's most complex issues. Our team won the following awards:

- Best Delegate The Roman Senate 49 B.C Aatmik Gupta
- Best Delegate The Committee on the Management of Extra terrestrial Affairs - Shreyan Puri
- Outstanding Delegate The General Assembly (Legal) Ambika Pandey
- Outstanding Delegate The Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Committee Devank Agarwal
- Honourable Mention The Emergency Session of the Indian Parliament -Shauryaveer Suda
- Honourable Mention The Supreme Command of the Allied Powers (1945) -Rayaan Singh
- Manya Bansal, Abhinav Agarwal, Swayam Bhatia and Ishana Aggarwal performed brilliantly in their committees and our School was awarded the Outstanding Delegation Award.