

THE MODERN CHRONICLE

MODERN SCHOOL BARAKHAMBA ROAD www.modernschool.net Est. in 1920



Principal Dr Vijay Datta with the office bearers of the MUN Society of Modern School Barakhamba Road

OFFICE BEARERS OF MODERN SCHOOL

WHAT'S NEW AT SCHOOL

1. Office Bearers of Modern SchoolPage 1,2

2. Ignite and Axiom 2017Page 3

3. Astronomy Club SessionPage 3

4. Indian Schools Debating Society
SelectionsPage 3

5. Sports ReportPage 4

On the morning of 27th October 2017 the office bearers of the various clubs and societies of the school were announced. The following students were felicitated with their respective badges:

Akshar Manch

Adhyaksha: Lavanya Bedi Upadhyaksha: Ishita Sharma

Bits N Bytes

President: Ayan Marwah

Vice Presidents: Arshdeep Singh Dhruv Tuli

Hrithik Bansal

Secretaries: Surya Aggarwal Samridh Gupta

Physics Club

President: Arshdeep Singh

Vice Presidents: Prabhat Chhabra Anushree Mathur

Surya Aggarwal

Secretary: Pranav Gupta
Joint Secretary: Vivan Bose

Vocal Music

President: Ojasvini Goel Vice Presidents: Lavanya Bedi

Gunagya S. Maman



Debating Society

President: Aatmik Gupta Vice Presidents: Shreyan Puri

Aryaman Sood

Quiz Club

Presidents: Aatmik Gupta Ayan Marwah

Aman Aggarwal

Vice Presidents: Aryaman Sood Arshdeep Singh

Secretary: Shubhang Gopal

Ceramics Club

President: Pranav Gupta

Vice President: Prabhat Chhabra

Chemistry Club

President: Swayam Bhatia
Vice President: Aatmik Gupta
Director: Arshdeep Singh
Secretary: Shreya Gupta

Treasurer: Prabhat Chhabra Shreyank Juneja

Instrumental Music

President: Aksh Gupta Vice Presidents: Eklavya Jain

Nityam Abhichandani

Commerce Society

President: Raghav Gupta

Vice Presidents: Vanshika Pant Anshum Gulati

Secretaries: Uday Goel Aman Aggarwal

Raghav Nath **Dance Club**

President: Ambika Pandey

Vice Presidents: Paripoorna Baxi Manya Sikka

Ritvik Bajaj

Economics Society

President: Aatmik Gupta

Vice Presidents: Shreyan Puri Aayushi Kapoor

Raghav Nath

Secretaries: Aman Aggarwal Uday Goel

Manvika Aneja

Editorial Board

Chief Editorial Layonya Bodi, B

Chief Editors: Lavanya Bedi Rayaan Singh

Urvi Maheshwari Ambika Pandey

Creative Head: Raghav Gupta

Fashion Club

President: Mihika Sharma Vice President: Khushi Jain

Secretary: Samiksha Saxena

Environment Club

President: Shrey Goyal

Vice Presidents: Ritika Jajoo Shreyank Juneja

Directors: Ambika Pandey Lavanya Bedi

Secretary: Varun Aggarwal

Ikebana Club

President: Tanvi Das

Vice President: Maanya Khurana

Graphics Club

President: Tushar Bhareja

Vice Presidents: Tanisha Jain Nikita Sharma

Interact Club

President: Nilangini Bansal

Vice Presidents: Namya Manglani Kripa Alag

Kabir Sahni Gunav Gujral

Director: Rhea Singh

Secretary: Lavanya Bedi Rushil Gera

Kids for Tigers

President: Shaurya Prashar

MUN Society

Secretary General: Aatmik Gupta Presidents: Swayam Bhatia

Shauryaveer Suda

Deputy Secretaries General: Rayaan Singh

Ritika Jajoo

Directors General: Shreyan Puri Aryaman Sood

Deputy Directors General: Shrey Goyal

Pranav Gupta
Painting Club

President: Aradhita Maheshwari

Vice Presidents: Harsheen Vohra Raunak Rana

Secretary: Yashna Bahri Treasurer: Tanisha Jain

Photography Club

President: Udit Murarka

Vice President: Aviva Baig

Riding Club

President: Saksham Jain

Sculpture Club

President: Ishaan Vermani

Vice President: Kartikey Singh Chaudhary

Spic Macay

Volunteers: Tushti Kapoor Radhika Raghav

Theatre Club
Love Bhatija

President: Love Bhatija
Vice President: Urvi Maheshwari



IGNITE AND AXIOM 2017

Students from classes S5, S6 and S7 participated in the Inter School Science and Mathematics Competition – 'Ignite and Axiom' organised by Delhi Public School Dwarka, on the 24th and 25th of October 2017.

In the event 'Chemicon' Shreya Gupta and Harsheen Vohra of S7 won the third position. In the event 'Curiosity' Arshdeep Singh and Gunagya Maman of S7 were the proud winners. Devank Agarwal of S6 was awarded the first prize in the Group Discussion. In the 'Surprise Event' Ishana Aggarwal of S7 and Hiya Gupta of S6 achieved the third position. In the event 'The Science of Life' Aarnav Khurana and Nishant Mehta of S7 successfully represented our school and claimed the first prize. Modern School was declared the Overall Winner of **Ignite 2017**.

In the 'Crossword' event organised by 'Axiom' the Math Club Shashank Ramesh of S6 was awarded the



The students with the Winners
Trophy

second prize. It was an excellent opportunity and a great learning experience for all the students that took part in the competition.

ASTRONOMY CLUB SESSION

The Module 2 of the Astronomy Club Session was held on 16th of October 2017. The session aimed to inform the students about Jantar Mantar. The young and excited minds learn about modelling the Jantar Mantar and using yantras. The session gave an insight into some of the most interesting facts about the famous astronomical instruments. The students keenly listened to the history behind building the Jantar Mantar. They were also taught how to use the various yantras at Jantar Mantar.



Young astronomers of Modern School

INDIAN SCHOOLS DEBATING SOCIETY SELECTIONS



Students debating fiercely to attain a spot in the top 12

The Indian Schools Debating Society's Selections were held on 23rd September 2017 at Pathways School, Gurgaon. The event saw the selection of the top 12 debaters in the Delhi Regionals. Manya Bansal of S6 was selected to be a part of the coveted top 12 who were selected from participants competing from the most prestigious schools across Delhi including The Shri Ram School, Vasant Valley. After three rounds of heated discussion the students sat anxiously waiting to hear the names of those who will qualify for the next round. Out of the top 12 selected from the regional round, further selections for the prestigious representation of India at the World School's Debating Championship are ongoing.





SPORTS FRONT







BADMINTON

DATE	EVENT & VENUE	CATEGORY	POSITION	
28 th	All India IPSC Badminton Championship	100		
September to	held at Sanskar Valley School, Bhopal			
2 nd October	Team Event			
2017	Namita Pathania	U-19 Girls	Winners	
LANGE	Kavya Gandhi			4
	Shivika Sharma	Walnut al		
Francisco A	Malika Kohli	A-01		
	Individual Event	THE TANK		
	Namita Pathania	U-19 Girls	Winner	
	Ananya Goel	U-17 Girls	Winner	ST. SA
	Kiah Tandon	U-14 Girls	Runner up	

BASKETBALL

DATE	EVENT & VENUE	CATEGORY	POSITION
3 rd to 4 th	Zonal Basketball Tournament held at Carmel	U17 Girls	Winner
October 2017	Convent School, Delhi	U19 Girls	Winner
12 th to 18 th	CBSE Cluster XX Basketball Championship	U19 Boys	Runner up
October 2017	held at S.D.Public School, Punjabi Bagh,	U19 Girls	Runner up
	Delhi		and the

CRICKET

DATE	EVENT & VENUE	CATEGORY	POSITION
9 th to 14 th	All India IPSC Cricket Tournament held at	U14 Boys	Joint
October 2017	B.K.Birla School, Pune		Winners

TABLE TENNIS

DATE	EVENT & VENUE	CATEGORY	POSITION	
9 th to 13 th	CBSE Cluster XX Table Tennis			
October 2017	Championship held at Mount Carmal			
Control of the	School, Dwarka			
	Tamana Gulshan(Individual Event)	U-14 Girls	Runners up	
	Team Event	100		No.
	Mannika Kesar	U14 Girls	Winners	
	Mitali Goel			

Supervised By: Ms Sanjana Mulla

Page 4 Compiled By : Mrs Gita Bhasin Sports News: Ms Himantica Aneja