

MODERN SCHOOL BARAKHAMBA ROAD www.modernschool.net Est. in 1920



Celebrating the 97th Founder's Day - with Values, Mission and Vision

WHAT'S NEW AT SCHOOL

- 1. 97th FOUNDER'S DAY Page 1, 2 CELEBRATION
- 2. SPECIAL ACHIEVERS' Page 2
 AWARDS
- 3. ACHIEVEMENTS IN Page 3
 ACADEMICS
- 4. ACHIEVEMENTS IN Page 4 SPORTS

97th FOUNDER'S DAY CELEBRATION

On 11th November 2017, Modern School Barakhamba Road, celebrated its 97th Founder's Day. The Hon'ble Minister of Railways and Coal, Mr Piyush Goyal, presided over the event as Chief Guest and addressed the august gathering. The occasion was graced with the presence of Mr Ashok Pratap Singh President Board of Trustees Modern Schools, Mr Vijay Chadda Chairman Managing Committee Modern School Barakhamba Road and members of the Board of Trustees.

Principal Dr Vijay Datta addressed the gathering and read the academic report for the year 2016-2017.



The students put together a series of performances to entertain the audience and showcase their talent which included a musical rendition of *Raag Bagheshwari* by the school orchestra. Also a fusion of Indo-Arabic music and an energetic dance performance of India's traditional Odissi and Kathak dances was presented. This was

followed by a melodious rendition of *Charishnu* based on Raag Jog by the choir. The highlight of the evening was the Annual Ballet. This year the ballet *Pratham Paarth* narrated the story of Karna, a character from the Mahabharat, who exemplifies the all-encompassing sense of suffering and the nobility of overcoming our own base nature. Not only did the congregation celebrate the vision of the founder Lala Raghubir Singh but also expressed pride in the efforts and achievements of the students. This was followed by the Prize Distribution Ceremony where the best of the meritorious students, in both academics and sports, were honoured with medals and trophies. Students were given awards in the following categories:



Vasu Jain – The Recipient of MN Kapur Gold Medal



Aatmik Gupta- Received The Special Principal's Prize



Himanshu Minocha- The Recipient of MN Kapur Gold Medal

SPECIAL ACHIEVERS' AWARDS

RUDRA PRIZE:

- 1) Prateek Kher
- 2) Neelesh Pandey

M N KAPUR GOLD MEDAL:

- 1) Vasu Jain
- 2) Himanshu Minocha

KAMLA BOSE AWARD

- 1) Pragya Jindal
- 2) Ayushi Kapoor

SPECIAL PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE:

- 1) Aatmik Gupta
- 2) Aryaman Sood
- 3) Ambika Pandey
- 4) Arshdeep Singh
- 5) Ayan Marwah
- 6) Shreyan Puri
- 7) Aman Agarwal
- 8) Lavanya Bedi

SARDAR BHAGWANT SINGH AWARD (RESEARCH PROJECT)

CUSINES OF INDIA 2016-17 -FIRST POSITION

- 1) Sanyam Gupta S6D
- 2) Rishab Dua S6D
- 3) Manan Khanna S6G

FARMER SUICIDES – SECOND POSITION

- 1) Kaartikay Agarwal S6J
- 2) Arahana Yaday S6J
- 3) Rushali Jain S6I
- 4) Dravie Bansal S6B

SLUM UPGRADATION – THIRD POSITION

- 1) Aditya Shankar Agarwal S6H
- 2) Shruti Bhardwaj S6A
- 3) Varnika Aggarwa S6Gl
- 4) Harsh Gupta S6C



ACHIEVEMENTS IN ACADEMICS

SRI HARPAT RAI GUPTA MEMORIAL AWARD 2016-17 USHA SHARMA MEMORIAL AWARD 2016-17

Anmol Jain S2 E (Best All Rounder in Class VI) Yanav Lall S3 A (Best All Rounder in Class VII) Manit Narayan S4 A (Best All Rounder in Class VIII)

Aadya Gupta S2 A (Best All Rounder in Class VII) Arshiya Choudhary S3 E (Best All Rounder in Class VII) Jagriti Natraj S4 H (Best All Rounder in Class VIII)

EXCELLENCE IN ACADEMICS 2016-17

Reyan Bangia S2E (First in Class VI) Maria Javed S4A (First in Class VIII)

Farhan Bakht Ahmed S3A (First in Class VII) Aryan Shiv Talwar S3D (First in Class VII) Zania Sharma S3A (First in Class VII)

Ayushi Kapoor S7I

KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XI IN HUMANITIES STREAM 2016 - 17

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN HUMANITIES STREAM 2016-17

• PREFECT

Chetna Bhagat S7E

KRISHNA RAJPAL MEMORIAL AWARD

(FOR OUTSTANDING GIRL STUDENT IN ACADEMICS IN CLASS XI)2016-17

• KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XI IN COMMERCE STREAM 2016 - 17

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN COMMERCE STREAM IN CLASS XI 2016-17

• PREFECT

Anushree Mahur S7D

KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XI IN SCIENCE STREAM 2016 - 17

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN SCIENCE STREAM IN CLASS XI 2016-17

· PREFECT

Arushi Mathur S7 A+

KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XII IN HUMANITIES STREAM 2016 - 17

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN HUMANITIES STREAM IN CLASS XII 2016-17

Medhavi Dhawan S7C

•SURAJ PRAKASH MEMORIAL AWARD

(FOR GETTING HIGHEST MARKS IN ENGLISH IN CLASS XII 2016-17)

•KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XII IN COMMERCE STREAM 2016 - 17

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN COMMERCE STREAM IN CLASS XII 2016-17

Divija Bansal S7E

•KC MAHINDRA AWARD

FOR STANDING FIRST IN CLASS XII IN SCIENCE STREAM 2016-17

•PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (ACADEMICS)

FIRST IN SCIENCE STREAM IN CLASS XII 2016-17

SURAJ PRAKASH MEMORIAL AWARD

(FOR GETTING HIGHEST MARKS IN ENGLISH IN

CLASS XII) 2016-17 Arjun Chabbra S7D

Sukanya Viswanathan S7 A+

Jaidev Prasada S7B

B.D.CHOPRA PRIZE

(FOR SCORING HIGHEST MARKS IN MATHS CLASS XII) 2016-17

Sanyam Gupta S7C Vasu Jain S7E Subeg Singh S7D

SPECIAL AWARD FOR SECURING 100% MARKS IN

AISSCE IN 2016-17

Aedha Rawal & Anoushka Amar P7A (PSYCHOLOGY)

Sadhika Lamba P7A+ (PSYCHOLOGY) Jay Gohri S7E (BIOTECHNOLOGY)

Aarushi Garg & Ragni Jyoti Jain P7G (PAINTING)

SUMEET ANAND PRIZE

FOR GETTING MAXIMUM MARKS IN PHYSICS IN CLASS XI

2016 - 17

Shubhang Gopal S7B Angad Sethi S7B



ACHIEVEMENTS IN SPORTS

LADY SOBHA SINGH TRUST AWARD

FOR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN GAMES &

SPORTS, 2016-17

Anushka Samuel S7H Football

(International Participation & National Position Holder)

Namita Pathania S7J

Badminton (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Shivika Sharma S7I

Badminton (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Manvika Aneja S7F

Basketball (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Shivay Oberoi S7J

Cricket (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Ayush Badoni S7J

Cricket (National & IPSC Position Holder)

RAKA MEMORIAL AWARD

ALL ROUND BEST SPORTSMAN, 2016-17

Swayam Bhatia S7A

Squash / Chess (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Yuvraj Gusain S7H

Basketball (National & IPSC Position Holder)

Shaurya Prashar S7E

Hockey (National Participation & IPSC Position Holder)

Aruni Singh S7J

Basketball (Sr Women National Participation & IPSC Position

Holder)

Yash Raj Shankar S7C

Swimming (National(CBSE) & IPSC Position Holder)

KIRAN SETH AWARD

ALL ROUND BEST SPORTS GIRL, 2016-17

Priyan Kapoor S7B

Basketball/Football/Athletics (National & IPSC Position

Holder)

DEV RAJ PURI CRICKET TROPHY

BEST CRICKETER OF THE YEAR, 2016-17

Gagan Vats S7I

(National & IPSC Position Holder, School Team Captain)

SAURABH AGGARWAL FOOTBALL TROPHY

BEST FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR, 2016-17

Kritik Chopra S7J

(International Participation & IPSC Position Holder)

RISHABJEET SINGH WASON HOCKEY TROPHY

Best Hockey Player of the Year, 2016-17

Bhanu Pratap S7

(National Participation & IPSC Position Holder, School Team

Captain)

SUMER BUDHRAJA MEMORIAL AWARD

BEST BOY SWIMMER OF THE YEAR, 2016-17

Saushtav Roy S6C

(National(CBSE) & IPSC Position Holder)

KIRAN SETH AWARD

(ALL ROUND BEST SPORTS GIRL – BASKETBALL /

FOOTBALL / ATHLETICS) 2016-17

Priyan Kapoor, S7B

(National)

DEV RAJ PURI CRICKET TROPHY

(BEST CRICKETER OF THE YEAR) 2016-17

Gagan Vats, S7I

(National & IPSC Position Holder)

SAURABH AGGARWAL FOOTBALL TROPHY

(BEST FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR) 2016-17

Kritik Chopra, S7J

(International)

RISHABJEET SINGH WASON HOCKEY TROPHY

(BEST HOCKEY PLAYER OF THE YEAR) 2016-17

Bhanu Pratap, S7D

(National)

SUMER BUDHRAJA MEMORIAL AWARD

(BEST BOY SWIMMER) 2016-17

Saustav Roy, S6C

(National)

PRINCIPAL'S PRIZE (For Excellence in Games & Sports)

Dhruv Rishi S7F BADMINTON

Mallika Khatri S7F CRICKET

Chirag Sharma S7H CRICKET

Shaurya Veer Suda S7G TENNIS

Saksham Jain S7 I HORSE RIDING

Supervised by: Ms Sanjana Mulla Page 4 Compiled by: Mrs Archana Rochlani Shukla